Tuesday, 24 February 2015

What's to be seen in an old Ballyshannon photograph?


What’s to be seen  in an Old Ballyshannon Photograph?

  7.       The Methodist Church designed by Thomas Elliott an Enniskillen architect in 1899. Today it is a veterinary surgeon premises. Ballyshannon had 6 churches at one time including another Methodist Church at the top of Main street, a Presbyterian Church on the Mall, St. Anne's Church of Ireland, St. Patrick's and St. Joseph's Roman Catholic Churches.

  8.       Part of the Kelly property and the building in the right hand corner of the photograph is part of the Ballyshannon Brewery  owned by the Kellys.  Edward Kelly of this family was a Home Rule M.P. in1918.The property was later purchased by the Condon family. The shell of the original house called Mall House is still visible today and is called Condons by most locals.Today most of  the site is occupied by the Nirvana restaurant and apartment complexes.

9. The laneway which leads to the Assaroe footbridge today. The ground on the left is occupied by Garda property today. The laneway in 1900 led down to the brewery and the Assaroe waterfall. Those were the days!
A  Local History Book suitable for those at Home and Away
"Ballyshannon. Genealogy and History" reveals newly researched history and genealogy of the town, extending as far as the Rossnowlagh, Cashelard, Corlea, Clyhore, Higginstown and Finner areas. Includes the parishes of Kilbarron and Magh Ene. It contains the full story of  The Green Lady which  was recently performed in Ballyshannon  to great acclaim. The genealogy material provides detailed guidelines for anyone tracing their roots in the area or anywhere in County Donegal or Ireland. The book contains 500 pages and is richly illustrated with stunning colour, aerial photography, original illustrations and rare photographs of the area not seen before.
Also available from Anthony Begley for postal enquiries email anthonyrbegley@hotmail.com

No comments:

Post a Comment